# ?

CPRFHK Announces New Board and New Initiatives for 2016/2017

Hong Kong7 July, 2016 – The Council of Public Relations Firms of Hong Kong (CPRFHK) has announced its new board for 2016/17. Along with welcoming a number of fresh faces from a range of professional backgrounds, Robert Grieves has been re-appointed as Chairman, with Kiri Sinclair the new Deputy Chair.

Dedicated to promoting best practices among its members and stakeholders, the CPRFHK serves as a voice and forum for Hong Kong-based public relations (PR) consultancies. Established in 2001, the Council raises awareness of the value proposition offered by PR, as well as supports and develops high professional standards within the industry. It is the only industry body of its kind in Hong Kong and has 33 registered member firms.

Mr. Grieves said the Council looks forward to the year ahead and is focused on maintaining, and building on, the momentum of the last few years.

“As the Hong Kong market faces increased competition and innovation brought about by new technologies and ideas, we will continue to convene, network, and provide original insight into industry issues,” said Mr. Grieves. “There is more innovation taking place among practitioners, and a better appreciation of PR among clients who do business in this dynamic market, than ever before, despite the currents of instability rippling around the world.

“As the ways in which people consume information across Asia continue to evolve, PR practitioners in Hong Kong face unique challenges and opportunities. Acting as the industry’s advocate, the Council supports consultancies in their quest to uphold best practice, foster talent, and deliver greater value for their clients.”

The Council will focus on developing activities and topical events that engage agency and client-side professionals alike. Over the past 12 months we held a record number of members-only and public events. This is something we will continue, to ensure we are reaching and informing all industry stakeholders.

“The response we received from attendees of our events have been gratifyingly supportive of our approach to topical issues,” Mr. Grieves commented.

The CPRFHK will also continue to organize initiatives such as the Young Professionals Competition, which, in its sixth year, received entries from a range of talented university students as well as young PR professionals.

The Council will also conduct the eighth Industry Benchmark Study since 2008. Designed to explore the standing and development of the PR industry in Hong Kong, the results of the survey generate valuable insights and promote public confidence in the industry.

The following people were elected to the 2016/2017 Council Board of Directors, as follows:

Board Position Name Company
Chairman Robert Grieves Hamilton Advisors
Deputy Chairman Kiri Sinclair Sinclair Communications
Hon. Secretary Joel Laykin Laykin Communications
Hon. Treasurer Vicky Neil Racepoint Global
Accreditation Chair Clara Liddell Racepoint Global
External Relations Chair Simeon Mellalieu Ketchum Hong Kong
External Relations Committee Felix Poon VIS Communications
Issues Chair Rachel Catanach FleishmanHillard
Membership Chair Nicola Oldfield GHC Asia
PR Chair Bastian Wong Flare Communications
Digital Marketing Chair Colby Jones Text 100
Training Chair Howard Jones Ogilvy PR
Benchmarking Survey Chair Rosemary Merz Text 100
Benchmarking Survey Committee Colby Jones Text 100
Board Director Antoine Calendrier Burson-Marsteller
Board Director David Croasdale Newell Public Relations
Board Director Kevin Lam Sinclair Communications
Board Director Jane Morgan Golin
Board Director KW Lam Hill+Knowlton
Board Director Arne Eggers Karla Otto
Board Director Clara Shek Ogilvy PR
Board Director Reyna Harilela  Bonvivant & Bellavita Ltd
Board Director Shirley Hiranand Bonvivant & Bellavita Ltd
Young PR Prof's Rep Disha Widge FleishmanHillard